28.-Legislatures of Saskatchewan, 1945-64, as at June 10, 1964

NOTE.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 81; for 1924-34 in the 1938 edition, p. 116; and for 1935-44 in the 1963-64 edition, p. 89.

Date of		Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of	
Election			of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution	
June June June June June Apr.	15, 1944 24, 1948 11, 1952 20, 1956 8, 1960 22, 1964	10th 11th 12th 13th 14th 15th	5 5 4 4 6 1	Oct. 19, 1944 Feb. 10, 1949 Feb. 12, 1953 Feb. 14, 1957 Oct. 11, 1960	May 19, 1948 May 7, 1952 Apr. 25, 1956 May 4, 1960 Mar. 18, 1964 1	

¹ Legislature not yet in session at June 10, 1964.

29.—Tenth Ministry of Saskatchewan, as at June 10, 1964

(Party standing at latest General Election, Apr. 22, 1964: 33 Liberal, 25 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and 1 Progressive Conservative.)

Office	Name		Date of Appointment		
Premier, President of the Executive Council and Provincial Treasurer. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Public Health Attorney General and Provincial Secretary. Minister of Mineral Resources. Minister of Industry and Information. Minister of Education. Minister of Highways and Transportation and Minister of Telephones. Minister of Social Welfare and Rehabilitation. Minister of Social Welfare and Rehabilitation. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Clabour and Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative Development. Minister of Natural Resources.	HOR. W. R. THATCHER HOR. A. H. MCDONALD HOR. D. G. STEUART HOR. D. V. HEALD HOR. D. V. HEALD HOR. H. C. CAMERON HOR. H. C. PINDER HOR. G. J. TRAFF. HOR. G. B. GRANT. HOR. D. BOLDT. HOR. D. T. MCFARLANE.	May May May May May May	22, 1 22, 1 22, 1 22, 1 22, 1 22, 1 29, 1 22, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12,	1964 1964 1964 1964 1964 1964 1964 1964	

Subsection 9.—Alberta

The Government of Alberta is composed of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. There are 63 members in the Legislative Assembly, elected for a maximum period of five years. The Hon. J. Percy Page, Lieutenant-Governor at Apr. 30, 1964, was commissioned to office Dec. 19, 1959. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1905) to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 116. Premiers since Confederation are listed in the same edition, p. 117.

Each member of the Legislative Assembly (except the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker and the Leader of the Opposition) receives a sessional indemnity of \$3,600 plus \$1,800 expense allowance plus \$15 for each day during the session when the member is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence, both tax free. The Speaker's sessional indemnity is \$6,000 plus \$3,000 expense allowance, the Deputy Speaker's sessional indemnity is \$4,800 plus \$2,400 expense allowance, and the Leader of the Opposition's sessional indemnity is \$7,600 plus \$3,800 expense allowance. Each also receives \$15 for each day during the session when he is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence. The Premier, in addition to the sessional indemnity, receives \$16,000 and each of the other Ministers receives \$12,500.